biblio meme

the lovely Gillette tagged me for bookish fun and games:

The Rules:

  1. Pick up the nearest book.
  2. Open to page 123.
  3. Find the fifth sentence.
  4. Post the next three sentences.
  5. Tag a few people.

had I done this anytime in the last month I could have picked up either a Dresden File by Jim Butcher or a Retrieval Artist by Kristin Kathryn Rusch because i just read both series’ in their entirety [not counting anything in hardcover that isn’t available in paperback yet]… but no, i had to pick today…

today i’m reading “Getting the Love You Want – A Guide for Couples” by Harville Hendrix PhD and i confess that i can’t believe how good the damned thing is!

my sister handed me this book and suggested that i read it.. since she said it about five minutes after my boyfriend and i had our first major trouble i was willing to listen…

anyway it’s awesome, here’s the three sentences [since it’s mid-sentence at the top of the page i picked my favourite three sentences of the two possibilities]:

“My wife, Helen, and I faithfully perform the same exercise that I assign my clients, and the Reromanticizing exercise is one that we have done so many times it has become integrated into our relationship: it’s something we do without thinking. One of the things that I ask Helen to do for me is to turn down the covers before we go to bed. This request comes from an experience I had over forty years ago.”

reromanticizing is an exercise whereby you ‘fake’ the behaviour of early courting. he has found through experience that getting couples to do nice things for each other without keeping score helps to get them feeling more connected and friendly toward each other…

anyway, fascinating stuff…

i tag:

brainiac chick

loving annie

and A. Secret because hell yeah i want to know what lives beside their beds…

5 Responses to “biblio meme”

  1. Brainiac Chick Says:

    Must remember to do. :)

  2. Loving Annie Says:

    That’s really a good idea, the re-romancing thing… Because that’s when you fall in love – with all the sweet things someone does in the beginning…

    Hope you have a great week ahead, Bad Influence Girl !

  3. Loving Annie Says:

    Okay, so I picked up 4 books, one after the other – including the new one by Eckhart Tolle, and each of the sentences on page 123 just was… vague or perplexing…

    So, I’m gonna pass on this one. Maybe I need to start reading erotica again. NAH, HOW ABOUT A GOOD COOKBOOK :)

  4. A. Secret Says:

    Oh! I have Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” that I am reading for book club (yes I do stop fucking around some times), and this page and these sentences are rather sassy actually. But alas I am too lazy to type them out. So spank me.
    XX

  5. badinfluencegirl Says:

    Can I just say?

    I wish Annie had done the cookbook…


Leave a comment

«